International Center for Science and Innovation at Shinshu University (AICS) was awarded the Carbon Neutral Prize in Hokuriku / Koshinestu area at the 6th Carbon Neutral Award, which recognizes outstanding accomplishments for preventing global warming and realizing an eco-friendly "Low Carbon Society" by suppressing the emission of greenhouse gases such as carbon dioxide.

With the Paris Agreement effective in 2016, Japanese government aims to reduce greenhouse gas emissions by 26% in FY2030 (compared to FY2013), and the construction and housing industry is required to play a large part of it. To promote awareness for realization of the low carbon society, Japanese Association of Building Mechanical and Electrical Engineers (JABMEE) awards prize annually from FY2012 recognizing eco-friendly facility planning and outstanding performance of building operation.

AICS was established in 2015 as a research base for "Global Aqua Innovation Center for Improving Living Standards and Water-sustainability". The rich groundwater of the area can be used as an energy source of air conditioning and snow melting, and also reused as general service water such as toilet.

With the building equipments in AICS such as soler power generation by the solar panels placed on the entire building, electric power supply from the fuel cell, and utilization of waste heat, it was realized to reduce carbon dioxide emissions by approximately half, compared to the similar-sized research buildings. We are proud that these points are evaluated and awarded this time.